If you're on the fence about trying the new gluten-free Oreos, read this review first! Find out if they taste like the originals and how they compare to other gluten-free chocolate sandwich cookies. Also, take a look at the ingredients, including the oats, and go through the pros and cons.
I'll admit, I was way more excited about the new gluten-free Oreos than I should have been! There is just something about the thought of enjoying a treat from the 'before times' again, especially one as iconic as Oreo! As soon as the cookies were released, I was hunting them down wherever I could. The first store I found them in was Walmart, but I have since seen them readily available at most grocery stores, Target, and of course on amazon.
Do They Taste Like Regular Oreos?
I was absolutely shocked when I took that first bite of the new Gluten-free Oreos by Nabisco. It surprised me that they could taste just like the originals, which my gluten-eating family also confirmed. There is just something about the flavor of an Oreo that has yet to be matched by a 'knockoff' gluten-free sandwich cookie.
Just take a whiff of the package and you can even smell that 'Oreo' flavor. I imagine it is something about the type of cocoa they use or their blend of artificial flavors.
The other great thing about these Oreos is the texture! They are not gritty or sandy and they are completely dunkable! They really hit the mark on that aspect!
Gluten-Free Oreo Ingredients
SUGAR, WHITE RICE FLOUR, TAPIOCA STARCH, PALM OIL, CANOLA OIL, WHOLE OAT FLOUR, CORNSTARCH, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), INVERT SUGAR, SOY LECITHIN, BAKING SODA, SALT, XANTHAN GUM, CHOCOLATE, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR.
A couple of notes on the ingredients:
- The good news is that these Oreos are dairy-free. No milk ingredients!
- They do however contain SOY, which is a top 8 major allergen.
- You may also notice another hot button ingredient as well, oats.
I have yet to find confirmation on the type of oats, but if I had to guess, they are mechanically sorted oats not purity protocol.
That being said, GFCO stands behind their certification of these cookies and is assuring consumers these Oreos meet their strict certification standards and are safe to eat, even for those with celiac disease. Since these cookies meet that certification, they are verified to contain less than 10ppm gluten.
Hi all. Products that are certified by GFCO must meet a very high standard, particularly when the product contains oats. 1/— GIG (@GlutenDotOrg) January 29, 2021
Your health and safety are our top priority at GIG. Rest assured, we are confident that the oat ingredients in gluten-free Oreos are safe.— GIG (@GlutenDotOrg) January 29, 2021
Still, people are pretty upset that these Oreos contain oats and wonder why they would use oat flour, knowing some people can not tolerate it.
If I had to venture a guess, they used oat flour because it produced a cookie that closest resembled the originals. It just wouldn't make sense for Oreo to put out a sub-par version. It's not hard to imagine that these Oreos went through many tests and variations before they settled on this final cookie. Maybe it just came down to the fact that no other flour met their standards for taste and texture.
How Do They Compare?
So how do these Oreos stack up to the many other versions of gluten-free faux-reos already on the market?
To put it plainly, if you want an Oreo, these are the best. If you don't care about that and you just want a chocolate sandwich cookie, the others are good, too!
I personally have tried many of the brands available to me including Goodie Girl, Glutino, Walmart, Simple Truth, and Trader Joe's versions. Yes, they are good but none of them are quite like Oreos when it comes to taste or texture.
Most tend to have a sandy or grainy texture which means they aren't great for dunking, since the cookie disintegrates if you dunk it for just a tad too long.
In my honest (unsponsored) opinion, the Nabisco Gluten-free Oreos are superior to the other brands, especially if what you really want is an actual Oreo or if texture is something that bothered you in the past with other brands.
The Pros and Cons
Finally, let's break down this gluten-free Oreo review into a list of pros and cons. First, let's start with the pros:
- The taste is spot on. They actually taste like an Oreo! One bite brings back all that nostalgic Oreo flavor.
- The texture is incredible. No grit. No sandy feeling.
- They are dunkable and isn't that half the point of an Oreo? No more gritty cookie falling apart in your milk.
- They are certified gluten-free by GFCO. Given that, I trust that even though they contain oats, they are safe to eat.
- These cookies are inclusive. They look and taste like the originals. One of the few things you could swap and no one would know the difference.
- Price. Since they are made by a huge brand, prices are generally better. I’ve already seen these on sale for as low as $2.49 at my local grocery store.
- White Packaging. These Oreos are so easy to spot in the store. They are right by the Oreos but the packaging is bright white. You won't mistakenly grab the wrong kind.
- Genius. They stamped “gluten-free” right on the cookie. Absolutely no confusion or concern you're eating the wrong cookie.
Ok now for the bad news, the cons:
- Slightly salty aftertaste.
- Not all celiacs can tolerate oats. Some folks still will not be able to enjoy these cookies.
- Not all celiacs trust oats, especially mechanically sorted oats. While some celiac dietitians say they are safe to eat, others are still feeling reserved.
- They contain soy, a top 8 allergen.
- It’s not lost on me that we still need to support our dedicated gluten-free brands. I do wholeheartedly appreciate and support these companies. On the other hand, I also don’t think it’s all bad that major companies are recognizing the need to produce beloved products in gluten-free form. I truly feel there is room and a need for both on the market.
What do you think? Have you tried the new Gluten-free Oreos yet? Or will you be steering clear? When I posted this question to my Instagram page, the response was quite mixed!
Thank you for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to check out other "is it gluten-free?" articles!
Also, join my VIP Community, (it's free)! I'll send new gluten-free articles & recipes right to your inbox!
Share this on Facebook and Pinterest using the social share buttons below! Sharing helps more people like you learn from these articles!
If you enjoyed this article, let me know in the comments!
Thank you for your support! ♡
jocelyn b whysall
Will the GF oreos work as a base for cheesecake?
Katie | Wheat by the Wayside
Yes! Check out this Gluten-free Oreo Cheesecake recipe!
I just found these, bought the double stuff. It's been over a decade since I bought regular Oreos and I have been eating the gluten free knock offs. These are good, the cookie is a bit softer than I remember. Good to have Oreo and double stuff back.
Katie | Wheat by the Wayside
Yes, they are definitely the closest to regular Oreos I've had since going gluten free!
I love these so much! I actually prefer these because of the slightly salty cookie (Of course I also like chocolate with sea salt) I think the extra salt was balance out the extra sweetness found in the other gluten free oreo brands