Everything Bagel Spice is for more than just bagels! But is everything bagel seasoning gluten-free? Let's dive into the topic, then learn how to easily make your own homemade blend with an easy 5-minute recipe!
When it comes to the gluten-free diet, there are many unsuspecting ingredients that can contain gluten, which is why it is important to always check every label!
Items like frozen French fries or bouillon often surprise those new to a gluten-free diet when they discover that it can contain wheat! So sometimes it's just easier to make your own at home, so that you can control the ingredients. Like I did here with this homemade gluten-free ranch dressing.
Is a spice mixture, like everything bagel seasoning the same? Let's find out!
What is Everything Bagel Seasoning?
Everything Bagel Seasoning is a blend of spices that includes dried minced garlic, dehydrated onion, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, and coarse salt. It first became popular when Trader Joe's first released their blend back in 2017. It went extremely viral and has remained popular ever since, with many grocery stores now producing their own versions.
Everything bagel seasoning is a popular choice not just for topping these two-ingredient gluten-free bagels, but for sprinkling on a variety of dishes! There are actually many delicious ways to use everything bagel seasoning. It is the perfect addition to avocado toast, breakfast bowls, eggs, hummus, popcorn, or even coleslaw.
Is Everything Bagel Seasoning Gluten-Free?
Generally speaking, everything bagel seasoning is inherently gluten-free. The ingredients are typically a mixture of sea salt, garlic, onion, sesame and poppy seeds. None of these ingredients contain gluten.
According to Beyond Celiac, the leading patient advocacy and research-driven celiac disease organization, raw spices, seasonings, and herbs that are made from plants are gluten-free. If you’re buying a seasoning mix, always read the label to ensure no wheat, barley or rye have been added.
Another issue that could arise is cross-contact (also referred to as cross-contamination) during the manufacturing process. In this case, look for an allergen statement on the ingredient label. You may wish to avoid a spice blend that states it was manufactured in a facility with wheat.
If a spice mix does not contain gluten but is not labeled gluten-free, it’s up to each individual to decide if they are comfortable consuming a particular seasoning mix.
If you have concerns about a specific brand, a helpful approach is to reach out to the manufacturer with your questions. This can be done easily by visiting the manufacturers website. Look for an FAQ page or fill out their contact form.
Be Wary of Misleading Information
I came across a website that states: "The ingredients in and of themselves are gluten free. But, certain manufacturers collect the extra spices that fall from other bagels they make, package it and call it Everything Bagel Seasoning."
Let me be clear: there is no evidence that this is actually the case. The popular manufacturers of everything bagel seasoning are not baking a bunch of bagels and collecting the spices that fall off.
This is a silly idea considering the sheer quantity of everything bagel spice mixes produced in the U.S. alone. Not to mention, if this were the case, and allergen statement of "contains wheat" would be required on the product packaging.
I think this information was an unfortunate AI output or the author was conflating the origin of the everything bagel with the production of everything bagel spice mixes.
The following companies offer gluten-free seasoning mixes that are either labeled gluten-free or free of gluten ingredients. You can decide for yourself which brands you're most comfortable with consuming.
Labeled or Certified Gluten-Free
- Newman's Own
- Noble Made: certified gluten-free
- Great Value - Walmart
No Gluten-Containing Ingredients or Allergen Warnings
- Olde Thompson
- Private Selection - Kroger
- Sam's Choice
- Simple Truth Organic - Kroger
- Stonemill - Aldi
- Trader Joe's
Brands to Avoid
- 365 Everyday Value - Whole Foods: Since the label states made in a facility with wheat, this is a product you might want to avoid.
Ingredients in Everything Bagel Seasoning
If you want to make your own homemade everything bagel seasoning, go for it! It is surprisingly easy! You may even have some of the ingredients already on hand. Here is what you'll need!
- Dried Minced Garlic: not garlic powder or garlic salt. Dehydrated garlic is coarse.
- Dried Minced Onion or Flakes: Again, not onion powder or onion salt. You can also use it to make an easy gluten-free French onion dip!
- White and/or Black Sesame Seeds: Black sesame seeds can sometimes be tricky to find. If so, substitute white sesame seeds.
- Poppy Seeds: Make this recipe, and use the rest to make some delicious gluten-free lemon poppyseed muffins!
- Flaked Sea Salt: Not table salt. You could use kosher salt in a pinch, but sea salt flakes are the superior choice here. I prefer Maldon Sea Salt.
*See the recipe card below for detailed ingredient amounts and instructions.
How to Make Your Own
This everything bagel seasoning recipe is as simple as gathering your spices and combining them to your taste!
If you want to bring out even more flavor, you can lightly toast the sesame seeds.
To toast sesame seeds, place them in a small skillet over low-medium heat. Cook the seeds for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently until fragrant and light golden brown.
Store your mixture in a small jar, recycled spice bottle, or other airtight container. This spice blend will last at room temperature for at least 6 months up to 1 year. There is nothing that will go bad necessarily, but the seasoning could lose some of its potency after long periods of storage.
Everything Bagel Seasoning FAQ's
Generally speaking, everything bagel seasoning does not contain gluten. It is a mixture of sesame seeds, poppy seeds, dried onion, dried garlic, and sea salt. Even so, always check the label to ensure no wheat, barley or rye have been added and that there are no allergen warnings indicating a potential for cross-contact.
Trader Joe's Everything Bagel Seasoning is not labeled gluten-free, nor does it contain gluten ingredients.
Stonewall, the Aldi private label brand, Everything Bagel Seasoning is not labeled gluten-free, nor does it contain gluten ingredients.
Gluten-Free Recipes You'll Love
These gluten-free recipes either use everything bagel seasoning or could be topped with it for a delicious new twist!
Gluten-Free Everything Bagel Seasoning
- 4 Tablespoons white or black sesame seeds, or equal parts of both
- 2 Tablespoons dried minced garlic, not garlic powder
- 2 Tablespoons dried minced onion, not onion powder
- 4 teaspoons flaky sea salt
- 2 teaspoons poppy seeds
- Toast the sesame seeds: Place the sesame seeds in a small skillet over low-medium heat. Cook the seeds for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently until fragrant and light golden brown. (Skip this step if you bought toasted sesame seeds.)
- Add the sesame seeds and remaining ingredients to a small bowl. Mix to combine.
- Store everything bagel seasoning in an airtight container at room temperature.
Disclaimer: The information in this article is the personal opinion of the author and for educational purposes only. This is not medical or nutritional advice. Please consult a doctor or medical professional before making changes to your diet or regarding any health related decisions. Ingredient information was accurate at the time of posting but should always be verified by the consumer by checking the product ingredient label for the most up to date information.